Atorvastatin (Lipitor) I: General Information and Side Effects



LipitorReviews

people have reviewed this drug
3 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
3 Stars
Posted 5 months ago (6/28/2018)

RatedLipitorfor High cholesterolReport

Start having shoulders pain 5 month ago My GP evaluated my condition of my shoulder tendon pain and suggested 5 session Physio therapy , the second shoulder started the same pain , I saw a shoulder specialist and suggested an MRI to both shoulders , I did, a tear on my both shoulders appear in the MRI result , the specialist suggest steroid injection to both shoulders to reduce inflammation, which i did and suggest 5 session physio , which i did , pain disappear and after 2 months of the steroid injection the pain is back more than before. saw a shoulder physio specialist he did not understand why, if the pain started on one shoulder why the 2nd shoulder started the pain. I immediately started to evaluate if LIPITOR Atorvastatin is the cause of my shoulders pain. I have been on LIPITOR for about 10 year , and about 3 years ago my pharmacist replaced LIPITOR by an generic product of Atorvastatin . only 9 months ago my Pharmacist reissued me with LIPITOR . Today i went to my GP for advice and explained my theory that LIPITOR is the cause of my shoulder tissue current problem , my Dr suggested temporarily stopping using LIPITOR for a month . IS there problem with that ? what

Report
1 Stars
Posted 6 months ago (5/18/2018)

RatedLipitorfor High cholesterolReport

I have been having memory problems since starting this drug for high cholesterol about 3 months ago. I also began to have lightheaded spells which caused me to pass out (syncope) twice hitting the left frontal lobe of my head my left breast and have no memory of what happened other than what I was told. I’ve had every test possible ran all coming back fine so I googled this medicine today and found that others have also reported the memory issues. I even failed a memory test showing mild cognitive impairment which I didn’t have 4 months ago. I also have a lot of muscle pain since beingon it. I would not recommend the atorvastatin which is the generic Lipitor. I have a parent taking this same medication who has also had the same issues that’s enough evidence for me.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 14 months ago (9/14/2017)

RatedLipitorfor High cholesterolReport

I writing on behalf of a friend, who told me on her own for an unknown reason she stopped taking Lipitor for 2 weeks and was shocked to find ALL her aches and pains disappeared.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 17 months ago (7/5/2017)

RatedLipitorfor High cholesterolReport

At first, I started on 20mg of generic lipitor. By the 9th day I was an emotional mess and digestive issues. I switched to 20mg every other day. The side effects disappeared and my cholesterol went from 311 to 223. Extremely happy.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 20 months ago (3/15/2017)

RatedLipitorfor High cholesterolReport

Was only able to tolerate one week. First 4 days no side effects, 5th day started experiencing brain fog, twighlight zone feeling like I was disconnected 2x, on 6th day episodes increased, not worth the quality of life. Doctor took me off it right away, we're trying, diet, exercise and lifestyle changes. He told me that brain waves can cross with this med, count me out!

Report
3 Stars
Posted 29 months ago (7/3/2016)

RatedLipitorfor Heart DiseaseReport

my legs ache sometimes

Report
0.5 Stars
Posted 75 months ago (8/9/2012)

RatedLipitorfor AtherosclerosisReport

Let me make a suggestion to you. When you have more than 5 or 10 replies (commeantaries), average them all out for each of the 4 categories you ask respondents to rate. Why make us go through all these commentaries to try to make an educated guess at to the average of the responses. That average is meaningful. I might add the ratings by them-selves are good but they are incomplete with the accompaning commentary. That commentary also needs to indicate the size of the Lipitor dosage to make any commentary meaningful. I think you need to raise the character limit to 1500.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 85 months ago (10/31/2011)

RatedLipitorfor High cholesterolReport

I was on 80 mg per day of Lipitor and was taking Co-Q-10 to offset some of its effects. I bought a combined supplement that had Co-Q-10 along with Red Yeast Rice. The Red Yeast Rice interacted with the Lipitor and caused kidney damage. DON'T TAKE RED YEAST RICE IF YOU ARE TAKING A STATIN !!

Report
0.5 Stars
Posted 89 months ago (7/5/2011)

RatedLipitorfor High cholesterolReport

The fact that lipitor causes memory loss has not been mentioned AT ALL in this online coverage of cholesterol drugs. That fact is also BURIED in the drug company's literature, yet it causes memory loss in one in fifty patients. I took it for a few months and lost about two years of my life. At one point a sales person asked me my name and I could not remember it. My condition totally mimiced altzheimers. I finally forgot to take the stuff and slowly began to regain my memory. There is no telling how many people are being treated for altzheimers that actually have their memory stolen by Lipitor.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 95 months ago (12/24/2010)

RatedLipitorfor High cholesterolReport

Lost insurance, off 40mg lipitor 4 months; had a stroke. Genetic cholesterol issues. Using 80mg Lipitor samples; future ?? Insurance in Feb if I can hold out that long.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 128 months ago (3/9/2008)

RatedLipitorfor Hyperlipoproteinemia Type III (Elevated beta-VLDL + IDL)Report

I have cardiovascular disease with considerably unstable LDL and HDL counts, were it not for Lipitor I doubt that I'd be around to tell the tale. My doctors tried other Statins and all to no avail (they all were responsible for serious side effects).

Report
2 Stars
Posted 129 months ago (2/20/2008)

RatedLipitorfor High cholesterolReport

I was given Lipitor because my cholesterol was up around 300. With just a 10mg dose it went below 200. That was the first time it had ever tested that low in 30 years. However, I am having real problems with muscle soreness. It got to the point that if I sat for an hour, I couldn't even stand up straight or walk for a minute. Now I am not sure what to do. I know from years of experience that I can't completely control my cholesterol with diet, but I am not sure that Lipitor is a good answer either.

Report
0.5 Stars
Posted 130 months ago (1/19/2008)

RatedLipitorfor High cholesterolReport

I take so many medications that I don't know what is causing what feels like bone pain. I thought I had developed bone cancer! Doctors don't want you to stop taking what they give you, whether you are in pain or not. I am going to tell him again about the bone pain and I am going to try taking some of the products suggested by others on the site. I am going to stop taking the Lipitor just to see if this is the problem.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 132 months ago (11/12/2007)

RatedLipitorfor High cholesterolReport

I HAVE BEEN ON THIS MEDICATION FOR ABOUT 7 MONTHS NOW JUST HAD MY FIRST BLOOD TEST AND IT CAME BACK GREAT LIPITOR DROPPED MY OVERALL LDL AND HDL'S TO AN ACCEPTABLE READING WITH NO SIDE EFFECTS TO DATE. MAY BE EXPERIENCEING SOME INSOMINA BUT TAKING A WAIT AND SEE TIME TO SEE IF THIS PASSES AFTER A WHILE.

Report
1.5 Stars
Posted 134 months ago (10/2/2007)

RatedLipitorfor High cholesterolReport

It was not as effective as I was expecting it to be. Also, when I doubled my dosage, I did not receive any significant impact to how I felt my high cholesterol was being affected. Overall, I would recommend any of the other statins over this one.

Report
0.5 Stars
Posted 134 months ago (9/7/2007)

RatedLipitorfor High cholesterolReport

causes more trouble than its worth. if u value your life, stay away from lipitor. It caused a sleeping disorder, muscle pain and extreme depression

Report
0.5 Stars
Posted 136 months ago (7/24/2007)

RatedLipitorfor HyperlipoproteinemiaReport

developed Parkinson's disease after taking liipitor 20 mgm/day for 4+yrs. statins deplete coq10, deplete dolichols; statins deplete cholesterol and APOE--both responsible for neuronal synapses occurrance; statins interfere with isoprenylation of proteins-depelte selenoprotein N production and glutathione reductase--the major brain anti oxidant; statin interfere with isoprenylation of the GTPase small proteins which function as translational proteins for many biological functions---manipulation of GTPases is being reserached for cancer therapy friend'shusband, age 50, wife's relative age 56 (male) , female relative (age 65) of wife have all beendiagnosed with parkinson's==all had been on lipitor for >3 yrs each...... cholesterol and LDL and statins related to parkinson's? http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/60876.php http://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/559283

Report
0.5 Stars
Posted 136 months ago (7/20/2007)

RatedLipitorfor High cholesterolReport

husband 59 yrs of age diagnosed parkinson's disease after 4yrs lipitor 20 mg/day;. sister's husband , 56 diagnosed with Parkinosn's disease (died due to Parkinson's) , Lipitor 40 day 3+ yrs. good friend's husband 50 at diagnosis with parkinson's ; on lipitor 20 /day1 yr. lipophilic statins CROSS blood brain barrier! stopping Mavelonate pathway that makes a substance found in virtually every cell in the body, esp. the brain cells(>25% of all cholesterol is found in the brain.

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 136 months ago (7/17/2007)

RatedLipitorfor Hyperlipoproteinemia Type IIa (Elevated LDL)Report

It has been helpful in lowering my LDL cholestral level, but it is very expensive. My insurance pays most of it, but it seems excessive, especially for people without insurance.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 137 months ago (7/7/2007)

RatedLipitorfor High cholesterolReport

I have good effects from Lipitor, there has been a major drop in my bad HDL and feeling better.

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: The dangers of stopping cholesterol medication

Lipitor Reviews
Lipitor Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Lipitor Reviews pictures

Lipitor Reviews forecasting
Lipitor Reviews recommend photo

Lipitor Reviews foto
Lipitor Reviews picture

Lipitor Reviews Lipitor Reviews new images
Lipitor Reviews new pictures

foto Lipitor Reviews
pictures Lipitor Reviews

Watch Lipitor Reviews video
Watch Lipitor Reviews video

Discussion on this topic: Lipitor Reviews, lipitor-reviews/
Discussion on this topic: Lipitor Reviews, lipitor-reviews/ , lipitor-reviews/

Related News


21 Women Outfits With Jogger Pants
4 Ways to Find Deer
30 Modern Ways to Wear Hijab – Hijab Fashion Ideas
Here’s Why your Diet isn’t Working
The One Thing: Maybelline Lash SensationalMascara
5 Buys: Long Sleeved Dresses
How to Enjoy High School
This Moms Hilarious First Day of School Photo Is Going Viral
50 Unique Small Kitchen Design Make Your Home Beautiful
The Guy Who Played Barney Has Finally Been Revealed
L’Oreal Paris Casting Creme Gloss Hair Color Review
Why real parmesan cheese is so expensive
The Hard Stuff: My stepfamily feud



Date: 30.11.2018, 18:19 / Views: 82333